+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Fastest line?

Fastest line?

Interesting idea came to me (from a coach)... Wanted to know what you guys think.

I was told in GS it is going to be a lot faster if you can let your skis run flat based on the snow from the end of one turn just for a little bit. While they run they are pointed at the INSIDE of the TURNING gate.

Tried to photoshop a picture of it...But I'm not very good with drawing turns...

The green line is the idea that is where you are running your skis flat, and then the yellow line would be the rest of the turn (ignore the tail end of the green line, thats just showing where your skis should be pointed).

This is another picture with what I figured it looks like when you ski arc to arc...

As you can see its deffinatly more dirrect to point your skis at the gate, and there is more time your skis are in (or almost in) the fall line...

Thoughts??? (aside form skidude can't draw turns)
    www.Paskiandride.com/
    ^^Check it out^^

I have a similar observation. That's where NASTAR differs from a real GS course. The main differences are:
    - NASTAR is usually not on a steep slope. Therefore, you can not count on acceleration, and you should concentrate on not losing speed, as opposed to catchig acceleration opportunities.
    - NASTAR gates are closer together than GS. Therefore, in NASTAR you have less opportunity to get higher (earlier) on release and prepare to go down (close to) the fall line until the next gate. Especially if you are on GS skis.
    - (I am sure this is for safety) The course is usually set so no strong lateral forces develop to throw you off the course. If you go straight to the next gate, you can always manage to turn sharply enough to stay on course, at worst at the cost of small deviation below the gate. In real GS, if you go straight to the gate, you get thrown off course and you will miss the next gate (unless you have Bode's legs :) ).